Nominations Being Accepted for the Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award: National Award Recognizes Leaders in Public Safety Education

The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and International Fire Service Training Association at Fire Protection Publications, Oklahoma State University (IFSTA/FPP/OSU) are accepting nominations for the 2020 Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education. Established in 2007, the Phillips Award is presented annually at the CFSI National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner in Washington, DC.

Dr. Phillips was a member of the National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control that wrote America Burning, the most comprehensive study ever undertaken on our nation’s fire problem that justified the need for a greater federal role in fire prevention and life safety. As a member of the Commission, Dr. Phillips authored the Minority Report that pushed the Commission to recognize the important role of prevention in reducing fire injuries and deaths. The award recognizes public safety leaders who have made significant contributions throughout their careers to the advancement of public fire safety education on the national level.

The award presentation will take place at the 32nd Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner on April 30, 2020 in Washington, DC. Hosted by the Congressional Fire Services Institute, the Dinner culminates a two-day program attended by 1,500 state and national fire service leaders who will spend their time in Washington, DC attending seminars and in meetings with their members of Congress.

The deadline for submissions is January 24, 2020. Please contact CFSI at 202-371-1277 if you have any questions.

IFSTA Anne Phillips Award Nomination

  • Nominator Information

  • Nominee Information

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.