Shane Ray Appointed to CFSI Board of Directors

Dr. William F. Jenaway, President of the Congressional Fire Services Institute, announced that Chief Shane Ray, has been appointed to the CFSI Board of Directors. Dr. Jenaway made the announcement at the CFSI National Advisory Committee meeting on December 10th in Washington, DC. Chief Ray’s appointment is to a newly created board position.

Chief Ray currently serves as the President of the National Fire Sprinkler Association, a role he has held since 2015. Prior to joining NFSA, he was appointed South Carolina State Fire Marshal by Governor Nikki Haley after having served as Superintendent of the South Carolina Fire Academy. Chief Ray joined the fire service in 1984 and worked his way through the ranks of career and volunteer organizations, from a firefighter to a chief in the Pleasant View and Brentwood fire departments in Tennessee.

Active at the national level, Chief Ray spent several years as 1st Vice President of the International Society of Fire Service Instructors and served on the Board of Directors of the International Association of Fire Chiefs. His achievements and contributions to the fire service have earned him many recognitions, including Fire Chief Magazine’s Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year Award for 2005 and Tennessee Fire Chief of the Year in 2011.

“My fellow board members and I welcome Chief Ray to the CFSI Board of Directors. His knowledge and understanding of the fire service and the mission of our organization were the key factors in selecting him for our board. My fellow board members and I look forward to working with him to further enhance CFSI’s mission.