Each year CFSI picks legislators that we feel have made a significant contribution to the fire service. This has been an ongoing tradition at CFSI and below is a list of past recipients. We would like to congratulate these members of Congress and encourage all members to follow their footsteps and continue to work hard for the fire service.

The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) is proud to announce that Congressman Bill Pascrell, Jr. (NJ-9) has been selected as the 2016 CFSI Legislator of the Year.

Throughout his distinguished career in Congress, Congressman Pascrell has been a leading advocate for the nation’s fire and emergency services. The current chairman of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus, Congressman Pascrell has been a staunch advocate for a number of federal fire service programs, including the Assistance to Firefighters (FIRE) and Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER) grant programs, as well as the United States Fire Administration (USFA). Recently, Congressman Pascrell introduced H.R. 5123, the Honoring Emergency Response Officers Benefits Reform Act. The legislation is intended to improve the timeliness and transparency of Public Safety Officers’ Benefits (PSOB) program’s death, disability and education claims.

“Throughout his congressional career, Congressman Pascrell has demonstrated an incredible commitment and dedication to our nation’s fire and emergency services,” said Bill Webb, CFSI’s Executive Director. “It has been an honor and pleasure to work closely with the Congressman for many years to advance the cause of America’s fire and emergency services on Capitol Hill. CFSI is honored to present him our Legislator of the Year Award”

“It fills me with pride to stand up for the brave firefighters who protect our families and our communities,” said Congressman Pascrell. “I am honored to receive the 2016 CFSI Legislator of the Year Award and will continue to fight for the first responders on the front lines who make our communities safer. Going forward, I will continue to prioritize an agenda to better train, equip, and staff firehouses across the country.”

Legislator of the Year Previous Recipients


Congressman Bill Pascrell


l to r: William Jenaway, Congressman Steny Hoyer (MD-05), Jim Estepp

Congressman Steny Hoyer


Senator Barbara Mikulski

Senator Barbara Mikulski


Senator Susan Collins

Senator Susan Collins


Senator Joseph Lieberman

Senator Joseph Lieberman


Congressman Peter King

Congressman Peter King


Senator Christopher Dodd

Senator Christopher Dodd


Congresswoman Stephanie Tubbs Jones (Posthumously)

Congresswoman Stephanie Tubbs Jones (Posthumously)


Congressman David Price

Congressman David Price


Congressman Curt Weldon (ret.)

Congressman Curt Weldon (ret.)


Senator John McCain - Arizona

Senator John McCain – Arizona

Congressman Curt Weldon - Pennsylvania

Congressman Curt Weldon – Pennsylvania

Congresswoman Jane Harman - California

Congresswoman Jane Harman – California


Congressman Christopher Cox – California
Congressman Bill Pascrell – New Jersey


Congressman Bob Etheridge – North Carolina


Congressman Jim Walsh – New York


Senator Robert Byrd – West Virginia


Senator John Warner – Virginia
Senator Carl Levin – Michigan
Senator John McCain – Arizona
Senator Ernest Hollings – South Carolina
Senator Chris Dodd – Connecticut
Senator Mike DeWine – Ohio
Congressman Bill Pascrell – New Jersey
Congressman Curt Weldon – Pennsylvania
Congressman Steny Hoyer – Maryland
Congressman Floyd Spence – South Carolina
Congressman Ike Skelton – Missouri
Congressman Nick Smith – Michigan
Congressman Bob Ehrlich – Maryland


Senator Judd Gregg – New Hampshire


Senator Paul Sarbanes – Maryland


Congressman Bill Emerson – Missouri


Senator Joe Biden – Delaware
Congressman Curt Weldon – Pennsylvania


Senator Daniel K. Inouye – Hawaii
Congressman Norman Mineta – California


Senator Richard Bryan – Nevada


Congressman Richard Boucher – Virginia