Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education

Named in honor of Dr. Anne W. Phillips for her profound and enduring contributions to fire safety education, the Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education recognizes individuals for outstanding achievements at the national level in fire safety education.

Image of Dr. Anne Wight PhillipsDr. Phillips was a member of the National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control, a 20-member body appointed by President Richard Nixon in 1972 to study our nation’s fire problem and make recommendations for reducing the fire losses across the country. The culmination of the Commission’s work was the seminal report, America Burning, the most comprehensive study ever undertaken on our nation’s fire problem.  It was the impetus for raising greater awareness for a larger federal role in fire prevention and life safety, and led to the establishment of the United States Fire Administration and National Fire Academy. As a member of the Commission, Dr. Phillips authored the Minority Report that emphasized the important role of prevention in reducing fire injuries and deaths.

Throughout her life, Dr. Phillips demonstrated an unwavering dedication to fire prevention and preparedness as the basis for strengthening fire safety education across the country. CFSI and the International Fire Service Training Association sponsor the award to memorialize Dr. Phillips’ legacy and recognize fire safety educators who have followed her example to move the field of fire prevention and safety forward.


Submission Guidelines

  • The candidate must be nominated by someone other than her/himself.
  • The nomination must address the following criteria:
    • Significant fire and life safety education contributions
    • Substantiation of a national level impact
    • Unique outcomes/accomplishments of candidate’s work
    • Documentation of leadership, collaboration, and influence on the work of other fire and life safety educators

Nomination Deadline – January 10, 2024

Award Presentation

  • The recipient of the award will be honored at the 34th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner held in Washington, DC on April 25, 2024. CFSI will pay reasonable expenses for the recipient to attend the dinner. These expenses include transportation, overnight accommodations for a maximum of two nights and seating at the Dinner. All other costs will be the responsibility of the recipient.  If available, a limited number of additional complimentary seating will also be provided.
  • The award presentation will take place during the dinner program. The presentation will include a brief video highlighting the achievements of the award winner. CFSI will ask the recipient to provide video or digital images of him/her performing fire prevention activities that can be used in the award presentation video.

Past Recipients
2007 Jim Dalton
2008 Nancy Trench
2009 Pat Mieszala
2010 Sharon Gamache
2011 Peg Carson
2012 Meri-K Appy
2013 Jim Crawford
2014 Mary Marchone
2015 Catherine B. Lohr and Pamela A. Powell
2016 Gerry Bassett
2017 Marsha Giesler
2018 Mike Weller
2019 Dr. Ernest Grant
2020 Ed Comeau
2021 Don Porth
2022 Rebecca Booker
2023 Peg Paul

  • Nominator Information

  • Nominee Information

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.