Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award — Past Recipients

2022 Award Recipient – Chief Greg Cade

The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and Motorola Solutions are proud to announce that Chief Greg Cade is the recipient of the 2022 CFSI/Motorola Solutions Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award.

Chief Cade’s demonstration of leadership in his various positions and his commitment to the health and safety of firefighters and emergency personnel caught the attention of the George W. Bush Administration. In 2007, he was nominated by President Bush and confirmed by the Senate as United States Fire Administrator.

Chief Cade joined the fire service in 1968 as a member of the Prince George’s County Fire and Rescue Department. He rose through the ranks during his 54-year career and served in various leadership roles at the local, state, and national levels. Among his leadership positions at the department level, Cade served for six years as Chief of Hampton Division of Fire/Rescue Department, followed by nine years as chief of the City of Virginia Beach Fire Department.

Before his retirement in 2021, Cade worked for the National Fire Protection Association, serving as its Director of Government Affairs and a regional director. During this time, he also served as Chair of the CFSI National Advisory Committee, providing leadership to the 38-member committee on a broad range of national fire issues.

“As fire chief of Prince George’s County Fire and Rescue Department early in Greg’s career, I realized he had the right attributes and skills to become a leader in the fire and emergency services at the department and national levels,” said Jim Estepp, CFSI Vice President. “The pursuit of firefighter health and safety has always driven Greg, and he has always shown a firm resolve to advocate for issues that benefit our nation’s first responders. This award is a well-deserved honor.”


About the Award

Jointly sponsored by the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and Motorola Solutions since 1998, the Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award recognizes exemplary leaders in public safety for their work to improve the delivery of the fire and emergency services in the areas of prevention, mitigation and response.

The award is named in honor of the late-Mason Lankford, a distinguished fire service leader from the state of Texas. Mason committed his time, energy and passion to the fire and emergency services within his home state and throughout the country. His primary mission was to make the profession safer for all who serve. In 1987, when newly elected Congressman Curt Weldon (PA) first proposed the idea of establishing the Congressional Fire Services Caucus, Mason stepped forward to offer his support. He was credited with convincing House Speaker Jim Wright to embrace the idea of a Fire Caucus, which lead to its successful launch. Since then, the Fire Caucus has remained the most active and influential caucus in Congress.

Previous Recipients

2019 Winner –
Russell Sanders, National Fire Protection Association

2018 Winners –
Steve Austin, International Association of Arson Investigators
Tony O’Neill, National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications

2017 Winner –
James Dalton (J.D.), National Fire Sprinkler Association

2016 Winner –
Chief Carl Holmes (Ret), The Carl Holmes Executive Development Institute

2015 Winner –
Dr. Denis Onieal, Superintendent, National Fire Academy

2014 Winner –
James M. Shannon, President, National Fire Protection Association

2013 Winner –
Chief Ron Siarnicki, Executive Director, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

2012 Winner –
Marcine D. Goodloe, Montgomery County (MD) Volunteer Fire-Rescue Association

2011 Winner – Ronny Coleman, National Fire Heritage Center

2010 – Kevin O’Connor, International Association of Fire Fighters

2009 – Steve Edwards, Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute

2008 – Hal Bruno, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

2007 – Garry Briese (ret.), International Association of Fire Chiefs

2006 – Meri-K Appy, Home Safety Council

2005 – Chief Alan Caldwell, International Association of Fire Chiefs

2004 – Chief R. David Paulison, Federal Emergency Management Agency

2003 – Chief Dennis Compton, International Fire Service Training Association

2002 – Chief Raymond M. Downey, FDNY (Posthumously)

2001 – Chief John Eversole, Chicago Fire Department

2000 – Paul Boecker, Lisle Woodridge (IL) Fire District

1999 – E. James Monihan, National Volunteer Fire Council

Fire Service Person of the Year

1998 – John Mason Lankford (Posthumously)

1997 – Anthony O’Neill, National Fire Protection Association

1996 – Steve Austin, Delaware Volunteer Firefighters Association

1993 – Hal Bruno, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation