CFSI and Masimo Recognize the Colorado Springs Fire Department with the 2023 Excellence in Fire Service-Based EMS Award

The CFSI/Masimo Excellence in Fire Service-Based EMS Awards Program was established in 2010 to recognize volunteer, career, and combination fire departments for excellence in the delivery of emergency medical services.  Fire departments across the country are developing new and innovative approaches to delivering emergency medical care. Both CFSI and Masimo want to recognize these departments and share their innovations with other departments seeking new solutions for delivering emergency medical services in their own communities.

2023 Award Recipient – Colorado Springs Fire Department

The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and Masimo presented the 2023 Excellence in Fire Service-Based EMS Award to the Colorado Springs Fire Department.  The presentation was conducted at the 33rd Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner, attended by over 1,200 fire and emergency officials from across the country.  Chief Randy Royal accepted the award on behalf of the fire department.

CSFD was honored for its Tiered Response Program that dispatches appropriate resources and personnel based on the actual needs of the patients.  The program covers various potential users of the 911 system, including super utilizers, the elderly, the mentally ill, homeless and incarcerated.

In addition to the presentation at the CFSI Dinner, CFSI and Masimo will conduct a local award presentation in Colorado Springs in September to recognize the local political leaders for their support of the program and the fire department.

Each year, CFSI and Masimo seek applications for this award program to recognize fire departments for their outstanding achievements in emergency medical services and share the achievements with fire departments across the country.  We will begin accepting applications for the 2024 award in September.


Previous Recipients

2022 – Loudon County Combined Fire and Rescue System
South Metro Fire Rescue

2021 – Thornton Fire Department

2020 – Chesterfield County Fire and EMS Department
San Antonio Fire Department

2019 – Phoenix Fire Department
Wiona Fire Department

2018 – City of Alpena (MI) Fire Department
Illini Emergency Medical Services/Illinois Fire Service Institute

2017 – Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Services
Orange County (FL) Fire Rescue

2016 – City of Olathe Fire Department
Kittitas Valley Fire and Rescue

2015 – Caribou Fire and Ambulance Department
City of Scottsdale Fire Department
County of Henrico Division of Fire