Congress Declares September 2020 Campus Fire Safety Month

Yesterday, a Senate resolution, S.Res.723, passed the Senate unanimously, declaring September 2020 as Campus Fire Safety Month. The resolution was introduced by Senators Susan Collins and Tom Carper, co-chairs of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus.

In a press release, Senator Collins noted, “As college and university students resume classes this fall, it is important that we continue to place an emphasis on fire safety, both in dormitories and in off-campus housing.  Our bipartisan resolution promotes fire safety education and fire prevention efforts in campus communities to help protect students and save lives.”

“By designating September as Campus Fire Safety Month, Americans are reminded of the importance of fire safety, awareness and prevention.  Students and faculty can each do their part to increase attention to fire hazards and create safer campuses across the country to help save lives,” said Senator Carper.

The resolution encourages the provision of fire safety education to college students, evaluations of existing campus fire safety, installation of fire detection and suppression systems, and development of applicable codes.

Recognizing Our Nation’s All-Hazards Firefighters

Today (April 30th) is the day the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) was supposed to host the 32nd Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner — an event to have been attended by 1,500 fire and emergency services leaders across the country to pay tribute to the dedication and commitment of our nation’s firefighters and emergency services personnel.

Read More

Coronavirus Resource Page

Below are links to information from federal agencies on the coronavirus (COVID-19) that may be useful to the fire and emergency services:

CFSI AND IFSTA to Recognize Ed Comeau With Public Safety Educator Award 2020 Recipient of the CFSI/IFSTA Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education

The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and the International Fire Service Training Association at Fire Protection Publications, Oklahoma State University (IFSTA/FPP/OSU) are pleased to announce that Mr. Ed Comeau is the recipient of the 2020 Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education.  

Read More

Three Fire Departments Selected as Recipients of the Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award

The Congressional Fire Services Institute and National Fallen Firefighters Foundation have selected Sioux Falls (SD) Fire Rescue, the Clayton (DE) Fire Company, and the Prince George’s County (MD) Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department as the recipients of the 2020 Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award.

Read More