Three Fire Departments Selected as Recipients of the Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award

The Congressional Fire Services Institute and National Fallen Firefighters Foundation have selected Sioux Falls (SD) Fire Rescue, the Clayton (DE) Fire Company, and the Prince George’s County (MD) Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department as the recipients of the 2020 Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award. Named in honor of former Maryland Senator Paul Sarbanes, the award recognizes fire departments and organizations for leadership in advancing firefighter health and safety.

Representing career, volunteer and combination fire departments, these three recipients developed important health and safety programs for their personnel that are based on the 16 Firefighter Life Safety Initiatives established at the 2004 Tampa Summit. The initiatives form the criteria for the award.

The award presentations will take place at the 32nd Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner on April 30, 2020, in Washington, DC. CFSI and NFFF extend their thanks to State Farm Insurance and VFIS for serving as corporate co-sponsors of the awards program.