Forging New Relationships
Fire Service Leaders from Across the Nation Attend CFSI Event to Deliver Important Messages on Capitol Hill

WASHINGTON, D.C. (May 5, 2017) – The Congressional Fire Services Institute took great pride in hosting the 29th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Symposium and Dinner Program on April 5th and 6th, in Washington, DC. Over 1,500 fire and emergency services leaders from across the country attended this year’s program, spending much of their time attending seminars and meetings with the members of Congress.

For those two days, the fire service commanded the attention of our federal legislators above all other constituencies. The primary topic of conversation during the two-day event was the reauthorization of the Assistance to Firefighters and Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response grant programs. On April 5th, Senator John McCain (AZ), an original Co-Chairman of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus, introduced S. 839, the AFG and SAFER Reauthorization Act. His three fellow co-chairs, Senators Tom Carper (DE), Susan Collins (ME) and Jon Tester (MT) co-sponsored the measure. With the Senate bill introduced, fire service leaders delivered compelling messages in meetings with their federal representatives about the need to support the legislation.

An important element of the event was the CFSI Seminar Program. Featuring prominent national fire service leaders, the seminar program addressed a broad range of national policy and leadership issues – the types of issues not always addressed at other fire service conferences and trade shows. The first seminar featured three former US Fire Administrators – Dave Paulison, Greg Cade and Ernie Mitchell – who offered their insights and observations on the mission of the United States Fire Administration. It was one of many widely attended seminars.

On the evening of April 6th, everyone gathered together in the ballroom of the historic Washington Hilton for the National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner. Three Co-Chairs of the Fire Caucus – Senator Collins, Senator Carper, and Congressman Bill Pascrell (NJ-09) – were the featured speakers, delivering important messages to audience about engaging in the legislative process.

The program also featured four award presentations. Jim Dalton, a 50-year veteran of the fire service and former government affairs director for the National Fire Sprinkler Association, was the recipient of the CFSI/Motorola Solutions Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award. The International Fire Service Training Association received the CFSI/NFFF Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award. The CFSI/Masimo Excellence in Fire Service-Based EMS Award recognized the Orange County (FL) Fire Rescue Department and the Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service. And the final award presentation, the CFSI/IFSTA Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety recognized Marsha Giesler of the Downers Grove (IL) Fire Department.

Plans are already in the works for the 30th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Symposium and Dinner Program which takes place on April 18-19, 2018. If your company or organization is interested in raising its profile at this event, please give us a call. We have a number of sponsorship and branding opportunities for companies currently available. Please contact CFSI at 202-371-1277 for details.


Add Your Comment