Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education

2018 Recipient

Mike Weller, retired public safety officer for the Hagerstown, MD Fire Department and instructor at the National Fire Academy, was selected as the 2018 award recipient. He was the driving force and team member that developed the Children’s Safety Village in Washington, County, MD that offers a two-day learning experience for young children on fire safety education. As an NFA instructor, Weller has designed and delivered many important public education and community risk reduction courses that peers and student alike have recognized for their impact in the field of public safety education.

About the Award

Named in honor of Dr. Anne Wight Phillips for her profound and enduring contributions to fire safety education, the Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education recognizes individuals for outstanding achievements at the national level in fire safety education.

Image of Dr. Anne Wight PhillipsDr. Phillips was a member of the National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control that wrote America Burning, the most comprehensive study ever undertaken on our nation’s fire problem that justified the need for a greater federal role in fire prevention and life safety. As a member of the Commission, Dr. Phillips authored the Minority Report that pushed the Commission to recognize the important role of prevention in reducing fire injury and death.


History of the Award

In 2007, the Home Safety Council, in association with the Congressional Fire Services Institute, created the Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education. At the time, there did not exist a nationally-recognized award honoring individual leadership in fire safety education. In 2012, the International Fire Service Training Association (IFSTA) assumed co-sponsorship with CFSI.

The annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner, hosted by the Congressional Fire Services Institute, is the most important event in the fire service, bringing together over 2,000 fire and emergency services leaders across the country, members of Congress and administration officials to pay tribute to the dedication and commitment of our nation’s fire and emergency services. Previous recipients of the Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education include:

2007 Jim Dalton
2008 Nancy Trench
2009 Pat Mieszala
2010 Sharon Gamache
2011 Peg Carson
2012 Meri-K Appy
2013 Jim Crawford
2014 Mary Marchone
2015 Catherine B. Lohr and Pamela A. Powell
2016 Gerry Bassett
2017 Marsha Giesler, Downers Grove (IL) Fire Department
2018 Mike Weller, Hagerstown MD Fire Department