Nominations Open for the 2017 Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education 

The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and the International Fire Service Training Association at Fire Protection Publications, Oklahoma State University (IFSTA/FPP/OSU) are accepting nominations for the 2017 Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education.  The award recognizes individuals for outstanding achievement in public fire safety education.  The presentation will take place at the 29th Annual CFSI National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner on April 6, 2017, in Washington, DC.

Named for Dr. Anne W. Phillips, the award honors her outstanding achievements as a champion of fire prevention education and celebrates her role as a leader whose exemplary work in fire safety education has had a lasting impact on the nation’s safety. As a member of the National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control, Phillips authored the 1973 Minority Report to America Burning, pushing the Commission to recognize the important role of prevention in reducing fire injury and death.

Throughout her life, Dr. Phillips demonstrated an unwavering dedication to fire prevention and preparedness as the basis to strengthen fire safety education for the public across the country. Her goal was to end fire deaths and burn injuries. The award named in her honor strives to keep the work and spirit of Dr. Phillips alive by celebrating those who follow her example to move the field of fire safety for the public forward. The award honors advocates who have made, over time, significant contributions to the advancement of public fire safety education on the national level.

Nominations should be received by IFSTA and CFSI on or before February 17, 2017.

Find the online application by clicking here.


Add Your Comment