The U.S. Department of Justice’s Bureau of Justice Assistance has opened the nomination period for the 2017-2018 Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor. This is the highest national award honoring firefighters, emergency service officers, and law enforcement officers across the country, including federal, state, local and tribal officers. The nomination period will remain open until 11:59 p.m. (eastern time) on Tuesday, July 31, 2018.

This award honors public safety officers who displayed exceptional acts of courage and decisiveness to protect human life, above and beyond the call of duty. To receive the Medal of Valor, public safety officers must be nominated by the chief executive officer of their employing agencies, recommended by the bipartisan Medal of Valor Review Board, and cited by the Attorney General. Each year, the medals are presented to the recipients at a special White House ceremony.

Learn more about the requirements for this award on the Medal of Valor website and start preparing your nominations today.

Add Your Comment