Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award — Past Recipients

2020 Award Recipient – Dr. Lori Moore-Merrell

The CFSI Board of Directors selected Dr. Lori Moore-Merrell as the recipient of the 2020 CFSI/Motorola Solutions Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award.

Dr. Moore-Merrell joined the Memphis, TN Fire Department in 1987, where she served as a fire-paramedic.  In 1993, she began a 26-year career with the International Association of Fire Fighters and focused much of her work on data analysis, system performance measurements, and staff deployment models. Her contributions in these areas have had a significant impact on the fire service, changing practices, policies, standards, and laws to advance the health and safety of our nation’s firefighters.

In addition, Dr. Moore-Merrell is widely respected for her contributions in fire service-based EMS, establishing agendas and contributing to policy development that have enhanced the delivery of fire service-based emergency medical services.

In 2019, Dr. Moore-Merrell retired from the IAFF and founded the International Public Safety Data Institute. The nonprofit organization is dedicated exclusively for scientific purposes that provide analytical tools and information to the public safety sector to improve how they evaluate risks, deploy resources, and respond to emergencies.

About the Award

Jointly sponsored by the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and Motorola Solutions since 1998, the Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award recognizes exemplary leaders in public safety for their work to improve the delivery of the fire and emergency services in the areas of prevention, mitigation and response.

The award is named in honor of the late-Mason Lankford, a distinguished fire service leader from the state of Texas. Mason committed his time, energy and passion to the fire and emergency services within his home state and throughout the country. His primary mission was to make the profession safer for all who serve. In 1987, when newly elected Congressman Curt Weldon (PA) first proposed the idea of establishing the Congressional Fire Services Caucus, Mason stepped forward to offer his support. He was credited with convincing House Speaker Jim Wright to embrace the idea of a Fire Caucus, which lead to its successful launch. Since then, the Fire Caucus has remained the most active and influential caucus in Congress.

Previous Recipients

2019 Winner –
Russell Sanders, National Fire Protection Association

2018 Winners –
Steve Austin, International Association of Arson Investigators
Tony O’Neill, National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications

2017 Winner –
James Dalton (J.D.), National Fire Sprinkler Association

2016 Winner –
Chief Carl Holmes (Ret), The Carl Holmes Executive Development Institute

2015 Winner –
Dr. Denis Onieal, Superintendent, National Fire Academy

2014 Winner –
James M. Shannon, President, National Fire Protection Association

2013 Winner –
Chief Ron Siarnicki, Executive Director, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

2012 Winner –
Marcine D. Goodloe, Montgomery County (MD) Volunteer Fire-Rescue Association

2011 Winner – Ronny Coleman, National Fire Heritage Center

2010 – Kevin O’Connor, International Association of Fire Fighters

2009 – Steve Edwards, Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute

2008 – Hal Bruno, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation

2007 – Garry Briese (ret.), International Association of Fire Chiefs

2006 – Meri-K Appy, Home Safety Council

2005 – Chief Alan Caldwell, International Association of Fire Chiefs

2004 – Chief R. David Paulison, Federal Emergency Management Agency

2003 – Chief Dennis Compton, International Fire Service Training Association

2002 – Chief Raymond M. Downey, FDNY (Posthumously)

2001 – Chief John Eversole, Chicago Fire Department

2000 – Paul Boecker, Lisle Woodridge (IL) Fire District

1999 – E. James Monihan, National Volunteer Fire Council

Fire Service Person of the Year

1998 – John Mason Lankford (Posthumously)

1997 – Anthony O’Neill, National Fire Protection Association

1996 – Steve Austin, Delaware Volunteer Firefighters Association

1993 – Hal Bruno, National Fallen Firefighters Foundation