Congressman Mike Bost Selected to Co-Chair the Congressional Fire Services Caucus

The leadership of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus has selected Congressman Mike Bost (IL-12) to serve as a co-chair.  Congressman Bost assumes the position following the retirement of former-Congressman David Reichert at the end of the 115th Congress.  

Currently serving his third term in the House, Congressman Bost previously served for two decades in the Illinois House of Representatives.  The Congressman also served as a firefighter for the Murphysboro (IL) Fire Department. He graduated from the University of Illinois’ Certified Firefighter II Academy in 1993 and continued to serve the Murphysboro Fire Department during his six terms as state representative.  The Congressman also served in the United States Marine Corps from 1979 to 1982.

“As a former firefighter, I know firsthand the dedication our first responders show to the communities they serve,” said Congressman Bost. “I’m honored to stand shoulder to shoulder with my firefighter brothers and sisters who put their lives on the line for their communities. I’m humbled by this opportunity to be a leading voice for them in Congress through the Fire Services Caucus.”

“We welcome Congressman Bost to the leadership of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus and thank him for his willingness to serve,“ said Bill Webb, Executive Director of the Congressional Fire Services Institute.  “As a firefighter, the Congressman will bring an important perspective to the Fire Caucus. I applaud the decision of the Fire Caucus leadership in selecting the Congressman to join their ranks. I have no doubt he will continue the tradition of strong, bipartisan leadership that has made the Fire Caucus so successful.”

The Congressional Fire Services Caucus leadership is composed of eight members – four each from the Senate and House.  Maintaining the bipartisan spirit of the Caucus, leadership is split evenly between party lines with four Democrats and four Republicans.  The other co-chairs include Congressman Steny Hoyer (MD-5), Congressman Peter King (NY-3), Congressman Bill Pascrell, Jr. (NJ-9), Senator Tom Carper (DE), Senator Susan Collins (ME), Senator Jon Tester (MT), Senator Lisa Murkowski (AK).

The Fire Caucus is among the largest caucuses in Congress.  Members join to learn more about our nation’s fire and emergency services and the federal government’s role in addressing the needs of our nation’s fire and emergency services.  A list of current members is located on CFSI’s website.  If your member is not on the list, please have them contact CFSI and learn the value in becoming a member.