• Join CFSI Associates Club
  • National Fire and
    Emergency Services
    Dinner And Symposium

    Future Dates

    • 2016 - May 4-5
    • 2017 - April 5-6
    • 2018 - April 18-19


The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and National Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF) are accepting nominations for the Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Safety Leadership Award.  Presented annually at the CFSI National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner, the award recognizes organizations for outstanding leadership in advancing firefighter health and safety.  Taking place on May 9, 2013 in Washington, DC, the dinner will be attended by our nation's top political leaders and 2,000 state and national fire service officials.  The nomination deadline is March 15th.

Organizations nominated for the award should exemplify one or more of the following goals:

  • Recognition of the Life Safety Initiatives originally developed by the American fire service during the 2004 National Fire Service Summit hosted by the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation.
  • Recognizing the need to address firefighter health and safety and becoming an advocate for this cause.
  • Leadership in promoting and supporting firefighter health and safety initiatives at the local, state or national level.
  • Reaching out to other organizations and developing partnerships to further the cause of firefighter health and safety.
  • Engaging government leaders at all levels to work together for positive changes in firefighter health and safety, and for the establishment of government programs that can enhance the personal safety of firefighters.

For additional information about the Sarbanes award, contact CFSI at 202-371-1277.  Information is also available on the CFSI website at and the NFFF website at  The award recipient will receive an all-expense paid trip to our Nation's Capital to be honored at the most important evening for our nation's fire and emergency services.  The Sarbanes award is made possible by the generous support of State Farm Insurance and VFIS, Inc, the corporate cosponsors. The deadline for submitting applications is March 15, 2013.

# # #

Established in 1989, the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan policy institute that works with members of Congress in promoting fire and life safety issues. Working with other national fire service organizations, the Institute focuses its attention on issues that benefit all first responders. Members of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus, the largest caucus in Congress, look to CFSI for guidance and information to enhance their level of understanding about the challenges and needs of our nation’s fire and EMS communities.



Congress created the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation to lead a nationwide effort to remember America's fallen firefighters. Since 1992, the tax-exempt, nonprofit Foundation has developed and expanded programs to honor our fallen fire heroes and assist their families and coworkers.   The Foundation is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, located on the campus of the National Emergency Training Center, in Emmitsburg, Maryland.  Each year, the Foundation honors the memories of our nation’s fallen firefighters by conducting the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Service on the NETC campus, the site of the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial.