Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award

2015 Recipient

International Association of Fire Fighters

2014 Recipients

Office of the State Fire Commissioner, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Oklahoma Council on Firefighter Training and INTEGRIS Heart Hospital

2013 Recipient

Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue, Office of the Oregon State Fire Marshal, Governor's Fire Service Policy Council

2012 Recipient

Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training

2011 Recipients

Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition (HFSC)

2010 Recipients

National Volunteer Fire Council

Virginia Fire Chiefs Association

City of New York Fire Department

2009 Recipients

International Association of Fire Chiefs

Common Voices Coalition


  • Join CFSI Associates Club
  • National Fire and
    Emergency Services
    Dinner And Symposium

    Future Dates

    • 2016 - May 4-5
    • 2017 - April 5-6
    • 2018 - April 18-19



The Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award is co-sponsored by the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF). The award recognizes organizations for their outstanding contributions to firefighter health and safety. It is named in honor of former Senator Paul S. Sarbanes of Maryland who retired from the U.S. Senate in 2006 following a distinguished 36-year career in Congress.

Description: Sarbanes served as a co-Chairman of the Congressional Fire Services Caucus from 1993 to 2006. Between 2001 and 2002, he provided leadership as caucus chairman on a broad range of issues benefiting our nation's first responders. Even prior to his emergence as a caucus leader, the Senator was actively involved in fire service issues. In 1990, Senator Sarbanes introduced the legislation that created the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation. For the next 16 years, he was the Foundation's staunchest supporter in Congress, ensuring that the Foundation and those served by the Foundation had a voice on Capitol Hill. For his contributions to public safety, the Congressional Fire Services Institute presented Senator Sarbanes its 1997 Legislator of the Year Award, the highest legislative award presented on behalf of our nation's one million firefighters.

The Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award was created to encourage fire departments and associations across the nation to help reduce the number of firefighter deaths and injuries. The goal of this award embodies the goals of both CFSI and NFFF: to ensure that EVERYONE GOES HOME at the end of every call.

Both CFSI and NFFF extend their thanks and appreciation to State Farm Insurance and VFIS for serving as corporate co-sponsors of the awards program.

Award Goals

Organizations nominated for the award should exemplify one or more of the following goals:

  • Recognition of the Life Safety Initiatives originally developed by the American fire service during the 2004 National Fire Service Summit hosted by the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation.

  • Recognizing the need to address firefighter health and safety and becoming an advocate for this cause.

  • Leadership in promoting and supporting firefighter health and safety initiatives at the local, state or national level.

  • Reaching out to other organizations to develop partnerships to further the cause of firefighter health and safety.

  • Engaging government leaders at all levels to work together for positive changes in firefighter health and safety, and for the establishment of government programs that can enhance the personal safety of firefighters.

Award Eligibility

  • A candidate organization can be, but is not limited to, a fire department or other government agency, trade association, labor organization, non-profit organization, foundation or other deserving organization or company. An organization can nominate itself.

  • The actions or achievements for which the candidate is being considered must have made a positive impact in promoting firefighter health and safety at the local, state or national level.

  • The nomination must include at least two letters of support from elected officials who are familiar with the organization's leadership. It is not imperative that the elected officials serve at the same level (e.g., local, state or federal).

Selection Committee

The Selection Committee is comprised of three board members each from the Congressional Fire Services Institute and the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation, and the Chairperson of the CFSI National Advisory Committee, who will serve as Chair of the Selection Committee. The award selection will be the sole decision of the Selection Committee.

Award Submission

  • The recipient of the Senate Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Service Safety Leadership Award will be honored at the 28th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner on May 5, 2016.

  • The winning organization will receive a trip for one representative to Washington, DC to attend the dinner.¬† This includes coach-class airfare and hotel accommodations.

    Award Submission Deadline - TBD